Symptom:
(public)
 
Problem:
(public)
 
Solution:
(public)

Shambhala Member Help Directory

This directory lists members of the Shambhala Community who have expertise and information in a variety of areas, and are willing to help local Centers and Shambhala members. It also has links to documents that may help answer specific topic-related questions.

Note that if you choose the "Find" function on your browser (usually under the "Edit" dropdown menu), you can search this page for a specific topic or name.

If you can't find what you are looking for, email the Office of Centre and Group Support (aweinstein.shambhala@gmail.com) for help finding a topic or contact.

A    B    C    D    F    G    I    K    L    M    N    O    P    R    S    T    V    W

(Note: There is a search box at the bottom of every page of this site)

A

Accessibility Issues
Hamish Maclaren, Chair, Disability & Accessiblity Working Group -
maclaren@earthlink.net
Documents & Information -
shambhala.org/community/da.php

Aging (care of the aging in our mandala)
David Whitehorn -
davidwhitehorn@eastlink.ca, and Andrea Sherman - andreasherman@optonline.net, Co-chairs of Care of the Aging Working Group

Appointments: New Center Directors, Group Coordinators and other leadership positions
David Brown -
dbrown@shambhala.org

Asia and Middle East (members, groups in those regions)
Anna Weinstein –
aweinstein.shambhala@gmail.com

B

Banners, Pins and Flags - www.shambhalamedia.org

Bodhi School
• In North America, Susan Williams -
sawilliams108@gmail.com
• In Europe, Sophie Maclaren –
sophie_maclaren@shambhala-europe.org

C

Care & Conduct:

Care & Conduct Policy (pdf) Acrobat pdf symbol
• Care & Conduct Process, Chair – Irene Vliegenthart -
irenev@xs4all.nl

Center Leadership Consultation
• General
Anna Weinstein -
aweinstein.shambhala@gmail.com
• Governance as Path and mentoring
Amy Conway -
amyconway@gmail.com
• Fundraising
not currently assigned (Summer 2012) 

Children and Families Working Group
Susan Williams -
sawilliams108@gmail.com

Chogyam Trungpa Legacy Project - www.chogyamtrungpa.com

Chronicle Project - www.chronicleproject.com

Communications & Technology:
• Access to Member's Pages, Sangha-Announce, Sangha-Talk, etc -
  Gordon Burgess, Chief Facilitator -
shambhala-request@shambhala.org
• The Shambhala.org website
  Greg Heffron, Webmaster -
greg@gregsportfolio.com
• Shambhala Database (SDB)
  Candlin Dobbs, User support & training -
SDBanswers@gmail.com
• Shambhala Template System (for local Center websites)
   Greg Heffron -
greg@gregsportfolio.com
• Development of new IT initiatives
  Cameron Wenaus -
cameron@bluemandala.com
• Networking Shambhala
Communications & IT Conference Website
• General Questions/Comments
http://support.shambhala.org/
   

D

Dana Group (fund-raising consultation)
not currently assigned (Summer 2012)

Death & Dying Issues
Jacquie Bell -
jacquie.bell@gmail.com

Disability Issues
Hamish Maclaren, Chair, Disability & Accessability Working Group -
maclaren@earthlink.net
Documents & Information -
shambhala.org/community/da.php

Donations to Shambhala:
• 
How to set up donations
• General Questions about donations
  Coleen Logan -
clogan@shambhala.org

Dechen Choling:
• Director, Simon La Haye -
lahaye.simon@gmail.com
• Website –
www.dechencholing.org

Dorje Denma Ling:
• Director, Patricia Ullman Hayward -
phayward@dorjedenmaling.com
• Website –
www.dorjedenmaling.com

Dorje Kyung Dzong:
• Directors, Melissa and Bruce Robinson -
dkd@shambhala.org
• Website -
www.shambhala.org/centers/dkd

Diversity Issues: - Charlene Leung, Chair, Diversity Working Group - charleneleung.shambhala@gmail.com

F

Family Camp
• In North America: Susan Williams -
sawilliams108@gmail.com
• In Europe: Sophie Maclaren –
sophie_maclaren@shambhala-europe.org

Finances:
• Chagdzo Kyi Khyap - Connie Brock -
conniebrockmn@yahoo.com
• Shambhala Office of Finance & Development:
  – Director, Tim Watkins - 
watkins.shambhala@gmail.com 
  – Comptroller – Patricia Bennett - pbennett@shambhala.org
  – Development Coordinator –
not currently assigned
  – Development Assistant – Coleen Logan -
clogan@shambhala.org
  – Finance Assistant – Brenda Wentzell -
bwentzell.shambhala@gmail.com
  – General Questions about donations - Coleen Logan,
clogan@shambhala.org
• 
Centre Accounting Guidelines
• 
Borrowing Procedures for Centres (pdf) Acrobat file logo
• Shambhala
Principles of Financial Sustainability(pdf) pdf logo
• Shambhala
Policy on Financial Transparency & Integrity (pdf) pdf icon
• Fundraising resources - 
not currently assigned (Summer 2012)

G

Gampo Abbey:
• General information – Director, Barbara Badessi -
director@gampoabbey.org
• Website: 
www.gampoabbey.org

Governance:
• 
Key documents on Shambhala Governance
• Governance issues related to local Boards or Councils
  Joe Inskeep -
joseph.inskeep@verizon.net
• Governance as Path Working Group
  Amy Conway -
amyconway@gmail.com

I

Image Database – Anna Weinstein – aweinstein.shambhala@gmail.com

K

Kalapa Council:
• Chief of Staff, Joshua Silberstein -
jsilber@mac.com

Kalapa Executive:
• Executive Director, Carolyn Mandelker -
cmandelker@gmail.com

Karme Choling:
• Director, Jane Arthur -
jarthur@karmecholing.org
• Website -
http://www.karmecholing.org/

Kasung (Dorje Kasung)
• Gesar Arm Commander, Toby Sifton -
charles.toby.sifton@gmail.com
• Desung Arm Commander, Debbie Coats -
dcoats01@denma.org

Konchok Foundation - www.konchok.org

L

Latin America (Shambhala activities in Latin America) - Magali Meneses - magameneses@gmail.com

Leadership Succession Planning - Amy Conway - amyconway@gmail.com

Legal issues related to Shambhala Centres, including the legal relationship to the larger Mandala (Charter & by-laws), tax-exempt status issues, property purchases and leases, borrowing agreements, trademarks and immigration: Alex Halpern - ahalpern@halpernllc.com PLEASE NOTE: Mr. Halpern is not a source for general legal consultation. Centre specific legal advice is billed at an hourly rated which has been discounted for Shambhala business.

M

Mandala Council -
• Vice-Chairs
Victoria Hagens -
victoria.hagens@gmail.com
Deb Drexler -
debdr@localnet.com
Peter Bancel -
pabancel@shambhala.info

Marpa House -
• General Email -
marpa@indra.com
• Samten Kobelt, Co-director -
ziji4@yahoo.com
• Jessyca Goldstein, Co-director -
jessyca75@gmail.com

Membership
• Mandala-wide membership policy
/members/share/viewarticle.php?art_id=59
• International Membership - Thomas Cory - ThomasCory.Shambhala@gmail.com
• General Membership Questions - Anna Weinstein -
aweinstein.shambhla@gmail.com

Monasticism & Gampo Abbey- Director, Barbara Badessi - director@gampoabbey.org

Mipham Academy - Mark Seibold - msseibold@sbcglobal.net

Mukpo Institute
• website:
www.karmecholing.org/HTML/mukpo_institute/mukpo_institute.htm
• email:
Mukpoinstitute@karmecholing.org

N

Nalanda Translation Committee
• Director, Larry Mermelstein -
lmermelstein@shambhala.com
• Website -
www.shambhala.org/ntc

Ngedon School - www.ngedon.shambhala.org

O

Oaths of Office - David Brown - dbrown@shambhala.org

Otsa Shingsa Retreat Centre (Milk Lake Retreat Centre)
• Director, Gregg Clause –
milklake@shambhala.org

P

Passwords
• Websites & Sangha Talk -
http://shambhala.org/community/passwords.php
• Practice & Study pdf passwords, Jill Scott -
jscott@shambhala.org

Parenting as Path
• In North America, Susan Williams -
sawilliams108@gmail.com
• In Europe, Sophie Maclaren –
sophie_maclaren@shambhala-europe.org

Practice & Education:
• Documents, Practice Guidelines, etc -
http://shambhala.org/members/ps/
• Shambhala Office of Practice & Education –
- Director, Andrea Doukas -
adoukas.shambhala@gmail.com
- Associate Director, Jill Scott -
jscott@shambhala.org
- International Programs Manager, Edith Sage –
esage@shambhala.org

Practice Manual:
• 
Shrines: making a shrine, shrine types, caring for shrines
  – 
Rigden Shrine page: view, guidelines, thangka & lineage photo sources.
• 
Shrine Hall procedures: decorum, umdze, geko, drummer instructions
• 
Chants: the why, what, when, who, and where of chants
• 
Group Practices and Retreats: group practice formats, lojong, bodhichitta, precepts, solitary retreat
• 
Monthly Practices: scheduling, Exorcism chant, Maitri Bhavana, Sadhana of Mahamudra
• 
Annual Observances: Children's Day, Rites of Passage, Shambhala Day, Milarepa Day, Parinirvana of Chogyam Trungpa, Rinpoche, and more
  – Other resources:
Children's Day, Shambhala Day, Milarepa Day
• 
Ceremonies: refuge and bodhisattva vows, lhasang, blessings, visiting teachers, weddings
• 
Meditation Instructors: goals, MI training, role and more
  – Other
MI Resources
• 
Death and Dying: view, dying process, post-mortem arrangements, sukhavati ceremony
• 
Werma Sadhana: group practice, feasts
• 
Ngondro and Werma Group practice intensive guidelines

President of Shambhala – Richard Reoch - president@shambhala.org

Publicity
• Director of Communications, Larry Barnett -
larry@epiphanet.com
• Publicity materials - Anna Weinstein -
aweinstein.shambhala@gmail.com 

R

Rites of Passage Ceremony
• In North America, Susan Williams -
sawilliams108@gmail.com
• In Europe, Sophie Maclaren –
sophie_maclaren@shambhala-europe.org

S

Sakyong’s Council
 • 
Meeting Minutes from the Sakyong's Council (2008-2010)

Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche
 • Correspondence with the Sakyong:
    David Brown, Executive Secretary to the Sakyong -
dbrown@shambhala.org
 • Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche's Website:
www.mipham.com

Sakyong Wangmo
 • Correspondence with the Sakyong Wangmo:
    Basia Solarz, Secretary to the Sakyong Wangmo -
basia@ns.sympatico.ca

Shambhala Centres and Group Support
 • Guidelines and advice for forming centers and groups - Anna Weinstein -
aweinstein.shambhala@gmail.com

Shambhala Database
• Web Pages:
Passwords      Member Access      SDB View      Help Pages
• Policy information -
shambhala.org/members/share/bpmain.php?catid=10
• User Support and Training, Candlin Dobbs -  
SDBanswers@gmail.com

Shambhala Europe:
• Director, Chris Montone -
director@shambhala-europe.org 
• Centre Services -
centreservices@shambhala-europe.org
 • European finance issues, Centre housing, small group finance, financial support for Eastern Europe: Willem Kuijpers -
johannamariahoeve@tiscali.nl
 • Practice and Education questions specific to Europeans – Sabine Rolf –
sabine.rolf@shambhala-europe.org
 • Manuals and Guidelines – Jani Glavina –
centreservices@shambhala-europe.org
 • Mentor System – Jani Glavina –
centreservices@shambhala-europe.org
 • General questions - Jani Glavina -
anna_weinstein@shambhala-europe.org

Shambhala Media:
 • Co-Directors Emily Sell -
media@kalapacourt.org
    & Terry Rudderham - terry.rudderham@gmail.com
 • Archives Technical Director Gordon Kidd - archives@shambhala.org
 • Archives Website -
http://www.shambhala.org/archives/
 • Kalapa Recordings – Gordon Kidd, -
gkidd@shambhala.org
 • Kalapa Recordings website –
http://www.shambhala.org/pubs/
 • Website -
www.shambhalamedia.org

Shambhala Mountain Center
 • Director, Jon Barbieri –
jbarbieri@shambhalamountain.org
 • Website:  
www.shambhalamountain.org

Shambhala Online
 • Website –
http://www.shambhalaonline.org/
 • Email -
info@shambhalaonline.org

Shambhala Trust
http://www.shambhalatrust.org/

Sun Camp
http://www.shambhala.org/suncamp/

Surmang Foundation
http://www.surmang.org/

T

The Sakyong Foundation
 • Contact: Lisa Johnston –
lisajohnston@sakyongfoundation.org
 • Website:
http://www.sakyongfoundation.org/

V

Visiting Teachers
 • 
www.shambhala.org/documents/visiting_teacher_manual.pdf
   Protocol, organization & etiquette for visits by lineage teachers.
 • 
Teacher Invitation Guidelines
    Protocols and procedures for inviting lineage teachers to your centre.
 • Email Michael Gayner for all teacher invitation queries -
shambhala.protocol@gmail.com

W

Women (Status of & Feminine Principle)
 • 
List of Programs Offered (pdf) pdf icon
 • Shambhala Commission on the Status of Women and the Feminine Principle
   – Documents & Information:
    
www.shambhala.org/diversity/resources.php and
    
shambhala.org/members/women.php
   – Chair Agness Au -
agnessau@turtlemap.com

Working Groups:

   Accessibility & Disability Working Group
   Documents & Information -
shambhala.org/community/da.php
   Chair, Hamish Maclaren -
maclaren@earthlink.

Care of the Aging Working Group
   Documents & Information -
shambhala.org/community/aging
   Co-Chairs, David Whitehorn -
davidwhitehorn@eastlink.ca and Andrea Sherman - andreasherman@optonline.net

   Diversity Working Group
   Documents & Information -
shambhala.org/diversity
   Chair, Charlene Leung -
charleneleung.shambhala@gmail.com

   Community Care Working Group
(Having completed their work, this group is now inactive - but the results of their work can be seen by clicking the link below. Questions about this work could be addressed to the chair, as listed)
   Documents & Information -
shambhala.org/congress/care/index.php
   Chair, Amy Conway -
amyxconway@yahoo.com

   Families & Children Working Group
   Chair, Susan Williams -
sawilliams108@gmail.com

   Governance as Path Working Group
   Chair, Amy Conway -
amyconway@gmail.com

   New Economic Model Working Group
(Having completed their work, this group is now inactive - but the results of their work can be seen by clicking the link below. Questions about this work could be addressed to the Shambhala Treasurer, as listed.)
   Documents & Information -
shambhala.org/congress/ecomodel/index.php
   Shambhala Treasurer - Connie Brock -
conniebrockmn@yahoo.com

   Mandala Governance & Structure Working Group
(Having completed their work, this group is now inactive - but the results of their work can be seen by clicking the link below. Questions about this work could be addressed to the chair, as listed.)
   Documents & Information -
shambhala.org/congress/governance/index.php
   Chair, Joe Inskeep -
joseph.inskeep@verizon.net

   Membership Policy Working Group
(Having completed their work, this group is now inactive - but the results of their work can be seen by clicking the link below. Questions about this work could be addressed to the chair, as listed.)
   Documents & Information -
shambhala.org/congress/membership/index.php
   Chair, Mary Whetsell –
mwhetsell@mindspring.com

   Outreach Working Group
(Having completed their work, this group is now inactive - but the results of their work can be seen by clicking the link below. Questions about this work could be addressed to the chair, as listed.)
   Documents & Information -
shambhala.org/congress/outreach/index.php
   Chair, Holly Gayley -
hgayley@yahoo.com

   Touching the Earth Working Group
   Documents & Information -
shambhala.org/community/touching_earth
   Chair, Elizabeth Kanard -
ekanard@gmail.com