Program Details

White Tara: A Soothing Practice for Difficult Times


with Judith Simmer-Brown
October 15 / 12:00 AM - October 15 / 12:00 AM

White Tara: A Soothing Practice for Difficult Times


This five-week recorded course introduces the short daily practice of White Tara, one of the most famous bodhisattvas of compassion in Tibetan Buddhism. Emanated from the tears of the compassionate Avalokiteshvara, peaceful White Tara is said to witness the suffering of beings through her seven eyes, and she soothes their fear, calms their anguish, heals their suffering—both individual and communal—and extends their lives. This is a lineage practice particularly relied upon in times of domestic and community turmoil and disharmony, and when personal or family health is threatened.


White Tara practices have long been popular in Kagyu and Nyingma communities; this particular short practice was composed years ago by Sakyong Mipham to soothe illness, disharmony, and suffering in the Shambhala community.


The lung (reading transmission) will be provided, and the course will be comprised of practice sessions and talks on compassion practice and the tradition of White Tara.


Prerequisite: This course is open to practitioners who have a grounding in mindfulness meditation (at least one year) and who are ready to commit to a compassion practice.


About the Teacher


Acharya Judith Simmer-Brown, Ph.D., is Distinguished Professor of Contemplative and Religious Studies at Naropa University in Boulder, Colorado, where she has taught since 1978. As Buddhist practitioner since the early 1970’s, she became a student of Chogyam Trungpa Rinpoche in 1974, and was empowered as an acharya (senior teacher) by Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche in 2000. Her teaching specialties are meditation practice, Shambhala teachings, Buddhist philosophy, tantric Buddhism, and contemplative higher education. Her book, Dakini’s Warm Breath (Shambhala 2001), explores the feminine principle as it reveals itself in meditation practice and everyday life for women and men. She has also edited Meditation and the Classroom: Contemplative Pedagogy for Religious Studies (SUNY 2011). She and her husband, Richard, have two adult children and three grandchildren.


Program Details


This course is comprised of talks recorded at Shambhala Mountain Center's White Tara program in April, 2019. It also includes the lung (reading transmission) for the practice, talks, contemplations, live group practice, and an online discussion forum. The text  can be ordered once you have received the lung. The course is asynchronous. You may view the recorded talks at your convenience. Live group practice dates to be confirmed.


A live online meeting with Acharya Simmer-Brown is scheduled for Sunday, July 28 at the following times:


12pm Pacific / 1pm Mountain / 2pm Central / 3pm Eastern / 4pm Atlantic / 8pm UK / 9PM Central Europe


*******************


Registration Options



  • Individual rate: The regular course rate is 8.

  • Patrons: The Patron rate of 9 supports our efforts to connect teachers and learners through online programs. In particular, it helps us offer the generosity policy to those in need

  • Centers and Groups: See this link for more information and to register.


* * * * *


Generosity Policy. We want to make the teachings available to all and will work with you to ensure your participation. Log in and click on the Request a Discount link below before registering to receive a coupon code to use at checkout. For a further discount or scholarship, write to [email protected].


 


Click here for our Refund Policy.


Questions? Write to [email protected].

Go to Shambhala Online's website