Program Details

White Tara Live Practice Session - November 29


with Judith Simmer-Brown
November 29 / 12:00 AM - November 29 / 12:00 AM

There is no charge to register for this program.


White Tara Practice Session - Sunday, November 29, 2020


with Acharya Judith SImmer-Brown


TIME: 10am Pacific / 11am Mountain / 12pm Central / 1pm Eastern / 2pm Atlantic / 18:00 UK / 19:00 Central Europe


In the face of the worldwide pandemic of COVID19, please join us for the healing, soothing practice of White Tara. Emanated from the tears of the compassionate Avalokiteshvara, peaceful White Tara is said to witness the suffering of beings through her seven eyes, and she soothes their fear, calms their anguish, heals their suffering, restores their health—both individual and communal—and extends their lives. This is a lineage practice particularly relied upon in times of domestic and community turmoil and disharmony, or in the midst of attacks on health and longevity.  

 

We will do the short daily practice of White Tara composed by the Sakyong. This practice is open to any practitioner who has taken refuge in a Buddhist lineage. The text will be made visible on the site for those new to White Tara practice. (NOTE: The lung for this practice is only available within the course.)

 

Prerequisite: Group practice is open to all. To practice on your own, or to purchase the text, you need to have received the lung (reading transmission) and have taken the Refuge Vow.

 



About the Teacher



 


Acharya Judith Simmer-Brown, Ph.D., is Distinguished Professor of Contemplative and Religious Studies at Naropa University in Boulder, Colorado, where she has taught since 1978. She is also a senior Shambhala teacher, as well as the author of Dakini's Warm Breath: The Feminine Principle in Tibetan Buddhism.






 


Registration Options



  • This program is free of charge.

  • Patrons: . The Patron rate supports our efforts to connect teachers and learners through online programs. In particular, it helps us offer the generosity policy to those in need of discounts or scholarships.

  • You can donate any amount when you register, and any amount is appreciated.


For information and to also register for the online course White Tara: A Soothing Practice for Difficult Times, taught by Acharya Judith Simmer-Brown (which includes receiving the lung), click here.


Shambhala Online is self-supporting. Your generosity in making a donation so that we may continue to offer free programs is greatly appreciated!

Go to Shambhala Online's website