Program Details

Melting the Ice and Getting Unstuck: Talks On 'The 37 Practices of a Bodhisattva'


with Mathias Pongracz
January 23 / 12:00 AM - April 3 / 12:00 AM

 


Melting the Ice and Getting Unstuck: Talks On "The 37 Practices of a Bodhisattva"


with Acharya Mathias Pongracz


Five Live Talks on the following dates: (These will be recorded and available within the course.)



  • Saturday, January 23, 2021.

  • Sunday, February 7, 2021

  • Saturday, Feb 27, 2021

  • Sunday, March 14, 2021

  • Saturday, April 3, 2021


Times: 10:30 am (Pacific) /11:30 am (Mountain) / 12:30 pm (Central) /1:30 pm (Eastern) / 2:30 pm (Atlantic)/ 18:30 (UK) / 19:30 (CET)


This course is open to all. Registration is open until March 31, 2021. 


Course Summary


In times of pandemic, worldwide environmental destruction, and social disintegration, one can easily be overcome by feelings of disconnection, helplessness, resignation, and paralysis.


The text entitled The Thirty-Seven Practices of a Bodhisattva, by the 14th-century monk Ngulchu Thogme Sangpo, provides clear insights on how to work with such challenges and turn around seemingly intractable situations. It points to the skillful means that bring us the strength of heart to work with difficult circumstances while being of benefit to others.


Talk 1: When nothing works anymore: turning around // The story of Ngulchu Thokme Zangpo 


Talk 2: Setting out to travel: what to take with us -- preparations & provisions


Talk 3: Map and compass for travel: what to leave behind- the means of actual travel and progress


Talk 4: How to make use of loss, suffering, disgrace and other obstacles 


Talk 5:  Signposts left behind by an old monk -- making sure we don't go astray


Each live session will include a 30 to 40-minute talk, and 30 to 45 minutes for exchange and discussion. Part of each session will also be dedicated to guided exercises and meditations.


Free Downloads


Here are 2 good translations:


1) Ken McLeod’s translation on his website: unfettered mind:


https://unfetteredmind.org/37-practices-of-a-bodhisattva/


2) The Lotsawa House translation:


https://www.lotsawahouse.org/tibetan-masters/gyalse-thogme-zangpo/37-practices-all-bodhisattvas


Readings will be chosen from:



  1. The Heart of Compassion by Dilgo Khyentse Rinpoche. Or in French: "Au coeur de la compassion", editions Padmakara 2008

  2. Reflections on Silver River by Ken McLeod 

  3. The 37 Practices of Bodhisattva: Commentary By Khenpo Tsultrim Gyamtso Rinpoche (which can also be downloaded for free.)


Study questions will be provided, to give the opportunity to reflect on the contents of each talks.



 


Acharya Mathias Pongracz has been a student of both the Vidyadhara Chögyam Trungpa Rinpoche (since 1983) and Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche (since 1991), as well as student of Kobun Chino Roshi. He teaches in Austria, Hungary and France.


 


 


 


Registration Options



  • Individual: 8.

  • Patron: 9. The Patron rate supports our efforts to connect teachers and learners through online programs. In particular, it helps us offer the generosity policy to those in need

  • Centers: 9. Groups: 9 (Please register with your Shambhala account. See instructions here.)


Generosity Policy. We want to make the teachings available to all and will work with you to ensure your participation. Log in and click on the Request a Discount link below before registering to receive a 25% discount coupon code to use at checkout. For a further discount or scholarship, write to [email protected].

Go to Shambhala Online's website