Program Details

A Year of Deepening Compassion Part I: The Four Limitless Ones


February 10 / 2:00 PM - April 21 / 12:00 AM



A Year of Deepening in Compassion


The path of the Bodhisattva Warrior begins with developing affection for ourselves and expands this to others, dissolving the barriers that divide us. To support this practice, the Shambhala Acharyas have offered to lead the community in a year long series of talks, contemplative and meditation practices from the Buddhist Mahayana teachings of our lineage.

Through Shambhala Online, these talks will occur every second Sunday, beginning on February 10th and concluding in January 2020. Throughout the year, the main practice is tonglen, which will be taught by Ani Pema Chodron with both a guided meditation and an audio talk that will be posted on the home page for the course. Additionally, live online talks by acharyas will introduce and support other practices of the Mahayana. 


The year’s teachings are divided into four seasonal themes. Every three months a new course will begin but the program will be continuous. Within each season, acharyas will be offering talks that relate to that topic with their own personal approach. There will be one online discussion forum for each season.


The themes for the four seasons echo the virtues of the Four Dignities of the Shambhala Path:


February - April: Tiger, friendly to self and merciful to others: The Four Immeasurables (begins February 10)


May - July: Lion, joy of discipline: The Six Paramitas (begins May 5th)


August - October: Garuda, space beyond hope and fear: Heart Sutra and Sunyata (begins July 28th)


November - January: Dragon, compassionate engagement: Lojong, mind training (begins October 20)


Part 1




The Four Limitless Ones, is the first course of the four-part series exploring the Shambhala Mahayana teachings. This course includes Tonglen instruction and an audio talk by Acharya Pema Chodron and an introduction to The Four Limitless Ones. It also includes:



  • Five live classes with an Acharya with an opportunity for Q&A. The classes will be recorded, and each course will be led by a different Acharya.

  • A live discussion led by the Acharya. Live discussions are not recorded.

  • Readings and book suggestions to deepen our understanding of these teachings

  • Contemplations to help us integrate these fundamental teachings into our daily lives

  • A discussion forum.


Course Schedule


February 10 - Introducing Tonglen and the Four Immeasurables


February 24 - Equanimity


March 10 - Loving Kindness


March 24 - Compassion


April 7 - Discussions


April 21 - Sympathetic Joy and Course Conclusion




Meeting times: 10am PST / 11am MST /12pm CST / 1pm EST / 2pm AST / 7pm CET




Prerequisites:


Completion of Shambhala Training Level III and/or Joy in Everyday Life, and a consistent meditation practice. 




Registration Options


 


Regular amount: The regular course rate is 8.




Patrons: The Patron rate of 9 supports our efforts to connect teachers and learners through online programs. In particular, it helps us offer the generosity policy to those in need.




Generosity Policy. We want to make the teachings available to all and will work with you to ensure your participation. Click on the Request a Discount link below before registering to receive a coupon code to use at checkout. For a further discount or scholarship, write to r[email protected].




Package Discount: Individuals 9. Patrons 9. Register here for the the enire four-part series.




Centers and Groups: Please see this link to register with your Center or Group account for this one course. (See also the "package discount" option available for the entire series.)




Click here for our Refund Policy.




Questions? Write to [email protected].

Go to Shambhala Online's website